Depression is your greatest asset and here is why

One of the most painful things to go through in life is depression. Whether its self inflicted or caused by outside circumstances that we cant control, it can be a tool used for our own benefit or it can be a weapon of our own self destruction. The beautiful thing about life is that we have a choice in every situation, we can sit and despair or we can embrace this much needed time of reflection.

Depression is not the end all be all, it is the very beginning to a beautiful story that can soothe the pain of another. Your story of depression can in fact help you and give a helping hand to another who may be suffering just like you. I want to encourage you to embrace the pain of depression and all that it has to bring. The strength and wisdom that you will gain from it will be more useful to you and others, than if you had never gone through it.

Depression has a way of isolating us, whether we distance ourselves or others distance themselves from us. In the silence of our own agony, we are able to weigh what truly matters in our lives and determine our own self worth. Depression has a way of teaching us to let go, it strips of us of anything that isn’t who we really are. In those moments of solitude, we find out what we are when we are completely naked from anything that we thought gave us our identity and our worth.

Who we are is not defined by what we have or what others think we are, but by who YOU think you are. Nothing you do can truthfully convey who you are to the world. What you do is just that, an action and nothing more. “What we do” is defined by who we are. Our thoughts and beliefs about who we are, are the cause of our outward conditions. The root of depression then, is a direct result of who we think we are or who we think we are not. For many of us, we have been taught that things and what we do define us, and this is the primary cause of depression.

Depression is a result of many things, but all of those things originate from the same root…self identity. Finding and/or creating who we are, are both one and the same. The problem with most and why they can not “find” themselves, is because they believe that something has to give them meaning, and that is why many remain inactive. So it is the same with those who choose to “create themselves”. Understanding that YOU are the one who gives things, vocations and even who you are meaning, makes it more clear on what it means to “find” or “create” yourself.

This is where depression comes in. Depression comes in and strips you of all superficial beliefs in yourself. If you have ever came to the conclusion that life no longer has meaning to you and that the things that use to matter to you no longer matter, you’re on to something ground breaking. If it can lose its meaning, or if it can be stripped from you, it never was apart of your identity to begin with. What lasts, can never deteriorate. Depression is a close friend that is suppose to wake you up to the truth, but don’t let the emotions of it over take you.

The emotions we feel from depression have no other purpose than to remind you that YOU are live. Those emotions are to be investigated, not to be wallowed in. Find the cause of the emotion. Just like with physical pain, you wouldn’t just leave your hand in a location that is causing you pain without investing the reason for it, would you? You would immediately stop what your doing to make a split second assessment of where the pain is coming from, simultaneously as your removing your hand from the source of pain.

Depression has the same function. Look to the source of the pain, learn from it and then do what you must to make sure that you don’t revisit it again. No one sits there and watch’s their hand burn on a hot iron, so why would you sit there and have a pity party when there is something that you can do about the pain of depression. We all have very real emotions, I’m not saying ignore the pain, but don’t sit there and let it consume you either. Use it to your advantage.

Oaktown Vibes

 

16 thoughts on “Depression is your greatest asset and here is why

  1. I agree that you need to find the source of your depression. There’s no point in sitting there and allowing it to fester. I’ve also found that it helps you get to know yourself better because you get to understand the things that bother you and how to lift yourself up. I’d just be a bit hateful in saying that depression is an asset. While it’s known in the field of psychology, that mental illnesses are often correlated with creativity, I don’t think many people would be able to take depression as something to be thankful for. I’m not saying they have to hate it, I just know that I had a hard time looking at depression the way you did. But maybe I should look at it the way you do, I don’t know!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. I love your response and I completely get where you’re coming from. Any negative situation can be turned into a positive whether it helps us find a better solution to our current obstacle or whether we are refined and fortified by it. I say depression is an asset because for several years I have dealt with it and it really lead me to re-evaluate myself and what truly mattered to me. Through depression, I learned that my self worth came from what “I” chose to think about me. Not from my job, my possessions, people or even what they had to say about me, but from what I chose to believe about myself. It was an asset in the sense to where I was forced to either crumble or dig deep within myself to find the solution so I could climb out…needless to say, I chose to win and I climbed out it. When I consider that an asset is something that brings you value whether it be monetary or intrinsic, I would consider depression and asset as well, just like fire can destroy a forest or it can cook a meal for you, I see depression the same way if we can learn to harness it.

      Liked by 3 people

      1. I dealt with depression for a couple years and had a very similar experience to you. It really does strip away everything else you know because you’re so focused on this one conflict. There’s no time for petty surface-level stuff or social conventions or anything else. The only danger is that, in the process, its very easy to stop taking care of yourself. I agree with you that it’s very important to try to make something positive out of something negative, but depression is just too volatile for that in my opinion. I just can’t see it that way. At least not yet. However, I admire you for being able to do so. I’d say you’re further along the path of mindfulness than I am 🙂 good for you!!!!

        Liked by 3 people

      2. It took me a lot of time, pain and practice to get to this point but it’s very possible. I’ll definitely publish something addressing this issue more in depth. You’re there already, you just don’t know it yet 😉

        Liked by 3 people

  2. Love the article! I took a 12 week course on Mental Illness and was surprised to find that depression falls into that category. It is true what they say, positiveness can come from pain. It sounds like depression can also be considered a vehicle of success, one only needs to make that decision!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly. One thing I have learned more than anything this year is that we always have a choice in whether we are to be defeated or whether we are the victor, to decide if the situation is bad or if its actually a blessing in disguise. I often travel down that road of depression but I know how to cope and use it to my advantage, its painful but theres so much to learn from it when we step outside of ourselves to see an opportunity in it. Your feed back, as ALWAYS, is everything. I appreciate you!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

