Can I get some peace of mind?

The world is full of distractions. Its hard to get a lot done or to even find some peace when your mind is cluttered with all the news of imminent doom or even with your own personal stress and inner conflict. Finding peace is something that many of us never accomplish, because we believe that focusing on the problem, will fix the problem.

Even more valuable than money or finding the perfect lover, is finding peace. When you achieve peace of mind, life becomes more clear and you begin to think with more clarity. The real question is “how do I go about finding this peace…?” There is no one size fits all answer but we can definitely trace it back to the beginning foundation…you.

Nothing in the outside world can hurt you, once you have found peace within. You have to quiet the mind first and then begin to do what I call “deep work.” Deep work is anything that consist of meditating or stopping for a minute to be honest with yourself, to pen point where all of this turmoil is coming from. In an age where everyone is constantly moving and doing, stopping for a moment is the most beneficial thing you can do for yourself.

Turn everything off…yes, the brain has an off switch! Of course the mind is constantly going, but for the sake of this discussion, yes…the brain does have an off switch and this off switch consist of turning everything around you off and to be aware that you ARE in the present. The outside world can wait, your sanity is more important, your ability to focus on the tasks in front of you is important. Clear your mind. There are many ways you can do this.

Me personally, being that I’m an introvert, I like to get quiet and sit in silence and listen to my breathing. Meditating is an awesome tool to use to completely empty your mind to just be focused on the here and now. You have to learn how to breath, inhale the positivity that is all around you, exhale all the negativity and anything else that may be blocking you from being able to think clearly.

There are other ways as well, like reading a book, listening to music, going for walk, having tea and the list goes on. In a nutshell, anything that takes your mind off of the stress and inner conflict, do it. Do something that makes you happy, do something that makes you excited, but step away from what makes you uneasy and do it often.

Oaktown Vibes

21 thoughts on “Can I get some peace of mind?

  1. Great post. Being an extrovert my mind is constantly going, so finding quiet time is always a challenge. I have been jokingly asked where my mute button is 🙂 I do find that writing, with music on, helps me to focus and provides an outlet for me to relax. Inner peace comes with acceptance, of yourself, and you once you find that you can conquer all.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My mind is always going a million miles an hour. I need to learn to stop thinking even if only for a few minutes. To just find that quiet place would be so beneficial. I think it would improve me sleep study results greatly. The last one was very discouraging.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I appreciate the feed back mom and funny enough you just gave me another idea for my next blog topic. This is also something I deal with on the daily basis at times but I’ve learned how to deal with it in such a way to where I use it to my advantage.

      Liked by 2 people

    1. I apologize for the long delay, please forgive me. I absolutely love your feed back and I will definitely check out your blog. I took some much needed time away from my blog but there will more to come very soon. Thank you for your kind words and feed back. Peace and love to you.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No problem at all! Thankyou, and I’m delighted that you love my feedback! Me too, I’ve been on a blogging hiatus since February, since I’m studying for my exams, but I’ll soon go back live with my blog on 27 May! It’s my pleasure! Can’t wait to see your upcoming posts and get back to my blog! Peace & Love to you too! 🙂 🙂 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Meditation transforms your life completely and I’m saying it from my personal experience. Mind is such a complicated thing, it requires to be dealt with. Meditation is the only process which helps you analyze your thoughts and calm them down.
    I totally agree with you, there is no wealth that can buy peace of mind for you. You have to make an effort to change your life by yourself.

    Like

    1. I do apologize for the long delay, I took some much needed time away from my blog. I whole heartedly agree with you and I appreciate your feed back and you taking out the time to comment and share your thoughts. The past few months have taught me how useful meditation is and its really amazing that when I decide to come back to being active on my blog, your comment is waiting right here for me. You’re amazing. Peace and love to you.

      Like

    1. Please forgive me for the delay, I took some much needed time away from my blog. I really do appreciate your feed back and you taking out the time to comment and share your thoughts. I am a true introvert at the core haha! I come out of my shell more often these days only because I’m more conscious of the fact that there are so many hurting people around us and a simple small or a kind word can totally transform their day and give them hope. At the root of being like that, it definitely comes from being in a place where I’ve found peace within and nothing or anyone can hurt me. Thank you for your feed back. Peace and love to you.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m humbled by your comment and please forgive me for the delay. I took some much needed time away from my blog. I definitely agree with and receive what your saying haha! I can testify to what your saying, being positive and actively caring about people whether I know them or whether they’re strangers has rewarded me in ways that have caused me to tear up from the kindness reflected back to me. I really do appreciate your feed back and thank you. Peace and Love to you.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I have found that to be true as well. If only the world at large could see how much a little kindness can do. That is really hitting home today because my son’s high school had been receiving threats of a Columbine type shooting, and tomorrow is one of the days that were mentioned. I’m so saddened by the hate and anger in this world. But we can change it, I believe, one small kindness at a time. Love and God bless you in your efforts!!
        LaShelle

        Liked by 1 person

      2. My prayers are with you, your son and all of the student, parents and faculty at that school. We can definitely change it, with one random act of kindness at time. The more people are willing to show love and kindness without necessarily expecting anything in return, the sooner the world will reflect back to us what we’re giving it. We just need more love in this world and a better way to deal with the pain and anxiety that would cause people who are in pain to lash out like that. I most definitely agree with you and thank you LaShelle. I hope you enjoy the rest of your evening, and be safe please.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

